[Ducati] Scam from Ducati.net classifieds

Alex jp at pnsmicro.com
Sun Jun 24 18:20:02 EDT 2007


Vicki

The problem is when someone posts an ad to sell a bike.

I no longer post ads on ducati.net for this reason.  The ducati.net 
website shows your email address in plain text, and the Nigerian 
scammers collect it and send you this garbage.

The fault lies in the way that ducati.net lists contact information for an ad.

I told you about this about a year ago and it hasn't changed.

I created a special email address just to list the 
ad:  "darmahsale".. Within about 5 days, I got about 2-3 Nigerian 
scams per day sent to "darmahsale"

If you change the way the ads are listed (i.e. show them in graphic 
format, or use an anonymous system like Craigslist) then it will stop.



At 05:39 PM 6/24/2007, you wrote:
>
>Hi BJ,
>  If you could give me the ad details I'll have Scott remove the ad.  Thanks
>for the heads up.
>Vicki
>
>In a message dated 6/24/2007 4:40:17 P.M. Eastern Daylight Time,
>bjc at poorducrider.com writes:
>
>Hi  Vicky. Just thought Id forward this to you for a heads up. I had
>suspicions but today it is official.... Here is the transcipt. I dont know
>if it will tell you anything about where it came from... Why do people  have
>to try to do things this way???
>BJ CRawford
>Springfield,  IL
>
> >>>>>>>6/24/07
>Hi BJC,
>Thanks for your  prompt response to my mail.IAm most appreciative.However
>in other to  conclude the arrangement concerning this transaction,after
>consulting with  my client, he directed that payment will get to you
>inform of a cashier  check in the amount of $13,000 amount he explained to
>me,will come to you  in that form based on earlier order he made from a
>company in the States  but did not work out because there was delay in the
>shippment of the goods  he ordered.You are to deduct the cost of the vehicle
>$5500 refund the  balance of $7500
>to his shipping agent via MoneyGram Transfer immediately  for him to be able
>to arrange for the shippment of the vehicle on  time.
>So he has proposed that if you agree with the  terms of payment  you
>should for ward y our name,telephone number and address[resident or  office]
>f or him to forward it to the company to make out the check in  your
>name.
>So confirm this and provide the info so as to facilitate  payment to
>you.Your patience and understanding is appreciated. Enjoy the  day and I
>look forward to your response.
>Respectfully,
>COLE
>I saw  your ad on ducati.net
>
>info2005 at poorducrider.com wrote:  6/20/07
>Hi Mr Cole. Im a little curious of your offer as this is the  second,
>almost
>identical, offer I have recieved from Canada.  Where did you see my bike? I
>do not mean to be rude, im just trying  to be cautious and diligent. Thank
>you
>BJC
>
>henry cole writes: 6/20/07
>
> > I am Lewis Cole a local Total  Auto Center & Used Cars LLC
> > agent,Located at 176 GORDON  BARER ROAD,NORTHYORK, ONTARIO, CANADA M2H
> > 2N7.We specialise in  purchase of Autos and electrical electronics for
> > customers ,and  we get paid in commission,after payment has been
> > confirmed by  the seller to the buyer.I write you on behalf of our
> > client to  contact you and arrange for the buying and shippment of
> > your  bike which our client saw on the internet.
> > My customer  interested in purchasing your bike mentioned above for
> > the sum  $5500 ,and we will arrange for the pick up of the bike
> > once  payment is confirmed cleared by you. Please acknowledge the
> >  offer and we will inform the buyer of your confirmation of  acceptance
> > to sell and
> > have the funds remitted  to you as soon as possi ble.
> > Please we would want to know if  it's still availiable?And if it's
> > still,Send me the following  details:
> > (i)The final/bottom price.
> > (ii)The  condition and mileage of the said bike.
> > {iii}The pics via  email.
> > The above questions are part of our company policy when  purchasing
> > automobile,So don't find it embarrasing.Hope to hear  from you soon.
> > Have a nice day and God bless,
> >  Cole
>
>
>
>*****
>
>Our newest sponsor, MC Stands, has just  opened its doors!  It's a motorcycle
>stand superstore.  Every  brand, every model, 95% in stock for immediate
>shipment. Whether front  stands, rear stands, paddock stands, dirt bike
>stands, or any kind of stand  or lift, MC Stands tests, rates, and discounts
>everything they sell.   Check them out!
>
>Visit:  http://mcstands.com/
>_______________________________________________
>Ducati  mailing  list
>Ducati at ducati.net
>http://list.ducati.net/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/ducati
>Mailto:  veloce916 at aol.com
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>************************************** See what's free at http://www.aol.com.
>*****
>
>Our newest sponsor, MC Stands, has just opened its doors!  It's a motorcycle
>stand superstore.  Every brand, every model, 95% in stock for immediate
>shipment. Whether front stands, rear stands, paddock stands, dirt bike
>stands, or any kind of stand or lift, MC Stands tests, rates, and discounts
>everything they sell.  Check them out!
>
>Visit: http://mcstands.com/
>_______________________________________________
>Ducati mailing list
>Ducati at ducati.net
>http://list.ducati.net/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/ducati
>Mailto: jp at pnsmicro.com




More information about the Ducati mailing list